Taking Notes in EasyBib School Edition: See Mr. Honz to Get Code for CHS Accounts
FAQs about Citations
This guide is meant to assist you in citing source material using the most commonly used citation styles. This guide is meant only as a starting point and is, by no means, inclusive.
What is a citation? Webster's Dictionary defines "citation" as the act of citing a passage from a book, or from another person, in his own words; also, the passage or words quoted; quotation.
What is a bibliography? The American Heritage Dictionary defines "bibliography" as a list of writings used or considered by an author in preparing a particular work.
How are they different? Often times, we used citation and bibliography to mean the same thing. Sometimes, we also use the terms "reference list" or "works cited." However, technically, a citation is used for something you quote from and a bibliography is a list of every source you use to write your paper -- whether you quote from it or not.
Why should I cite? Well, mainly, because your teacher expects you to. That said, citing your sources also shows that you have done research using authoritative sources. Also, bibliographies act as further reading lists and help guide the reader of your paper to additional sources on that particular topic.
Which style should I use?
Most English classes use MLA 7. Teachers will let you know what style to use. If they don't, here's a general break down:
APA: Psychology, Education and other Social Sciences.
MLA: Literature, Arts and the Humanities
EasyBib School Edition Instructions for AHS
Setting Up Your Account
- Using Google Chrome Login to your Ankeny Schools Google account first.
- In a new tab, go to Centennial High School: Media Center: Resource Links: EasyBib Login for CHS Staff/Students
- On the right hand side you will see several accounts you can login with, choose Login with Google.
- Easy Bib will open and you will see your name in the top right corner. Click the arrow beside your name and choose Coupon Codes.
- Get the Coupon Code from Mr. Honz or your teacher and enter it in the box that says "Redeem a Coupon". This will connect you to the CHS EasyBib.
Starting a New Project: Bibliography
- Create a new project with a title and MLA 7.
- Click on Bibliography under your project name to start citing sources.
- Creating Citations:
- Add a web address, ISBN number or title for book, or an article title to Autocite.
- In online databases, use the Citation Tool. Many of them will have an export to EasyBib. Each article also has an MLA citation listed at the bottom of the article that you can copy and paste into EasyBib.
- To paste the citation into easybib.com, click on the last tab that says “All 59 options”, choose Copy and Paste on left.
- To get to the Notebook: From the bibliography page click on Notebook under your project title OR go back to My Projects and click Notebook under the project name.
- Click New Note
- Copy and paste the text from the article (or type the text from a book) into the quote box. Make sure to add quotation marks before and after, and a page number if one is available.
- Give the note a title.
- Select which source you are citing.
- Paraphrase or comment on the quote.
- Seclect the Organize option. This allows you to set up groups or color code items.
- You can not make a group until you have two items for the group.
- Then you make a group by dragging one on top of the other.
- Then you can name the group and this name will appear as an option in "Organize" for future notes.
- On the right side of the page, you can create an outline.
- Type your Thesis at the top of the outline.
- Drag your notes over in the order you want them to appear in your outline. You can drag an entire group at once.
- You can move or delete items from the outline using the Delete key or the arrows above the outline.
- To find the url of a citation you have already created, go to the Bibliography and under that citation choose edit.
- You may go back to edit your sources to add information about the publisher, article title, or the date.
- Check your teacher’s requirements for MLA style.
Cite Sources with EasyBib
Use this for a quick way to make a citation. If you have an EasyBib Account, make sure you sign in to save your source.
Exporting your Bib to a Document
Exporting from EasyBib to a Word Doc or Google Doc
- After you have added your citations to your EasyBib Account, click on Bibliography.
- Select Export: Then select either Print as Word Doc or Save to Google Docs
- If you select Word: You will then Select Download for MS Word
- If you select Google: It will automatically create a Works Cited Google Doc. You may want to change the name.
Hanging Indent for Works Cited Page
- The full citations will be listed at the end of the paper under "Works Cited." All lines in a citation other than the first are indented 5 spaces. This is called a "hanging indent."
In Word: Highlight the citation, hold Control + T and this will format the Hanging Indent.
Also in Word you can:
- If all lines are left aligned, highlight the entire works cited.
- Make sure you are on the "Home tab" and then click on the small arrow in the bottom right corner of the Paragraph section.
- In the paragraph window that pops up, drop down the Special menu and select: Hanging indent.
- Click on OK and the second line of each citation will indent.
In Google Docs: you have to use the Rulers at the top of the document
- Under View: Select Show Ruler
- Put your cursor in front of the second line of the citation.
- In the ruler, drag the rectangle and arrow over to the .5" mark. Then drag just the rectangle back to 0. This will leave the first line at the left margin and indent the second line...a hanging indent!